And the winner is …

And the Winner of the Baileys Prize for Women’s Fiction 2015 is …

Ali Smith: How to be Both

Many congratulations to Ali Smith and all writers on this list.

Here is the shortlist for the Bailey Prize.

  • Rachel Cusk: Outline
  • Laline Paull: The Bees
  • Kamila Shamsie: A God in Every Stone
  • Ali Smith: How to be Both
  • Anne Tyler: A Spool of Blue Thread
  • Sarah Waters: The Paying Guests

These books were on the longlist:

  • Lissa Evans: Crooked Heart
  • Patricia Ferguson: Aren’t We Sisters?
  • Xiaolu Guo: I Am China
  • Samantha Harvey: Dear Thief
  • Emma Healey: Elizabeth is Missing
  • Emily St. John Mandel: Station Eleven
  • Grace McCleen: The Offering
  • Sandra Newman: The Country of Ice Cream Star
  • Heather O’Neil: The Girl Who Was Saturday Night
  • Marie Phillips: The Table of Less Valued Knights
  • Rachel Seiffert: The Walk Home
  • Sara Taylor: The Shore
  • Jemma Wayne: After Before
  • PP Wong: The Life of a Banana


Congratulations to the winner. But we’re all winners really: lots of lovely reading!


To ensure you are notified of future blogposts please subscribe to email notifications by entering your email address in the box.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One Response to And the winner is …

  1. Eileen

    Very good result – How to be Both is a fab book. I loved it. I am going to reread it!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *